Oberon Trio

© Neda Navaee

The Oberon Trio was founded in 2006. Shortly after the ensemble’s premier concert, the Flensburger Tageblatt already credited the Oberon Trio with “enormous interpretive abilities, which testify to the enchanting ripeness and stylistic command of this new ensemble.” Meanwhile, the trio has given performances, among others, at the Berliner Philharmonie, the Wiener Konzerthaus, the Laeiszhalle in Hamburg, the Konzerthaus Dortmund, and Esterházy Palace, as well as in Italy, Bulgaria, Israel, India, Egypt, and the Ukraine. These three musicians are committed to offering performances of lesser-known compositions alongside established masterpieces. Their repertoire extends from piano trios by CPE Bach and Joseph Haydn – the pioneers of the medium – to those by Jörg Widmann and Charlotte Bray, whose trios were recorded for the first time by the ensemble. The trio also works together regularly with chamber music partners such as Tabea Zimmermann, Ian Bostridge, Christoph Prégardien, and Shirley Brill.

A special passion for the Oberon Trio is to establish greater intimacy between public and performers. Through moderated concerts, by publishing their own program-notes of the performed works, among other approaches, they provide listeners with insights into the processes and background of their interpretations.

With regard to Beethoven’s year 2020, the Oberon Trio has initiated a new project: Beethoven’s piano trios and arrangements for piano trio form a cosmos of their own within the oeuvre, which the trio tracks down in a compact form and both the significance of Beethoven for the genre and vice versa the versatility of the genre as a form of expression of Beethoven to this day explored. Learn more about Oberon Trio Beethoven to the power of 3

Oberon_Trio_Biography eng

Felix Mendelssohn: Trio Op. 66
Charlotte Bray: That Crazed Smile
Ludwig van Beethoven: Trio Op. 70/1 “Ghost”
Felix Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Scherzo)

 

Links

Oberon Trio website

Oberon Trio on facebook

Oberon Trio on youtube

Felix Mendelssohn: Piano Trio No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 66 – Allegro energico e con fuoco on soundcloud

Oberon Trio

© Neda Navaee

Das Oberon Trio gründete sich im Jahr 2006. Schon nach dem ersten Konzert bescheinigte das Flensburger Tageblatt dem Oberon Trio „eine enorme interpretatorische Leistung, die von berückender Reife und stilistischer Souveränität dieses neuen Ensembles zeugte“. Inzwischen konzertierte das Trio zum Beispiel in der Berliner Philharmonie, dem Wiener Konzerthaus, der Hamburger Laeiszhalle, im Konzerthaus Dortmund, im Schloss Esterházy sowie in Italien, Bulgarien, Israel, Indien, Ägypten und der Ukraine. Die drei Musiker haben es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, neben den etablierten Meisterwerken auch unbekanntere Literatur zur Aufführung zu bringen. Ihr Repertoire erstreckt sich von den Wegbereitern des Klaviertrios, CPE Bach und Joseph Haydn, bis zu Komponisten wie Jörg Widmann und Charlotte Bray, deren Trios das Ensemble ersteingespielt hat. Immer wieder arbeitet das Oberon Trio außerdem mit Kammermusikpartnern wie Tabea Zimmermann, Ian Bostridge, Christoph Prégardien und Shirley Brill zusammen.

Ein besonderes Anliegen des Oberon Trios ist es, mehr Nähe zwischen Publikum und Künstlern zu schaffen. Die Musiker gewähren den Zuhörern unter anderem durch die Moderation von Konzerten und das Verfassen eigener Werkbeschreibungen Einblicke in den Prozess und den Hintergrund ihrer Interpretationen.

Im Hinblick auf das Beethoven-Jahr 2020 hat das Oberon Trio mit Beethoven hoch 3 ein neues Projekt initiiert: Beethovens Klaviertrios und Bearbeitungen für Klaviertrio bilden innerhalb seines Œuvres einen eigenen Kosmos, dem das Trio in kompakter Form nachspürt und sowohl die Bedeutung Beethovens für das Genre, wie auch umgekehrt die Vielseitigkeit des Genres als Ausdrucksform von Beethoven bis heute ergründet. Details dazu finden Sie hier:

Oberon Trio_Beethoven³

Oberon Trio Biographie

Oberon Trio Projekte 2020/21

Felix Mendelssohn: Trio Op. 66
Charlotte Bray: That Crazed Smile
Ludwig van Beethoven: Trio Op. 70/1 “Ghost”
Felix Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Scherzo)

 

Links

Oberon Trio Website

Oberon Trio bei Facebook

Oberon Trio bei YouTube

Felix Mendelssohn: Piano Trio No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 66 – Allegro energico e con fuoco auf soundcloud

Presse

Kreiszeitung, 28. Februar 2018

Das Orchester, Mai 2017