Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century

18C. Credits: Eduardus Lee, 2022
18C. Credits: Eduardus Lee, 2022
18C. Credits: MR Photo, Simon van Boxtel

The Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century is one of the most prominent early music orchestras in the world. The musicians play internationally in leading (chamber) music ensembles and meet several times a year for performances of iconic and lesser-known repertoire. In the early 1980s, the orchestra achieved world fame by performing grand symphonic work on original instruments and in a historically informed manner. A revolution that never really stopped. 

But the uniqueness of the orchestra is not only in the sound or the way of playing. Ever since it was founded by Frans Brüggen more than forty years ago, musicians have never taken a score for granted. The approach is critical, curious, investigative and progressive. Core values from the Enlightenment that all orchestra members hold in high esteem. That is why every performance is a new challenge and the iconic repertoire remains alive and kicking.




Trouw, 9th October 2021

„The other starry performance of the evening came from the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century.“

Bachtrack, 16th October 2019


July, August, 12 November – 7 December 2024, as well as upon request
The Voice of the Recorder
With Lucie Horsch, recorder & musical direction

Works by J. S. Bach, A. Vivaldi and R. Namavar (new work, inspired from Vivaldi)

May 2025

with Théotime Langlois de Swarte, violin

W. A. Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major
as well as other works by W. A. Mozart and J. B. Vañhal

Theotime de Langlois de Swarte Photo: Marco Borggreve for Jumpstart foundation



25 MAY 2022 Elbphilharmonie Hamburg
J. Haydn: The Seasons
Nicolas Altstaedt, Dirigent / Christina Landhamer (Hanne) / Ian Bostridge (Lukas) / Florian Boesch (Simon) Capella Amsterdam