Phantasm

© Marco Borggreve
© Marco Borggreve
© Marco Borggreve

PHANTASM, an award-winning consort of viols, was founded in 1994 by Laurence Dreyfus. The ensemble quickly set a new standard for consort playing internationally both in the depth of its interpretations and its commitment to flawless string technique.

The winner of three Gramophone Awards among other prominent citations, the consort has travelled the world over, performing on concert series and in festivals throughout Europe, the Americas and Asia. Phantasm’s performances and over 20 recordings have garnered steady praise with critics singling out their ‘intensity and homogeneity of tone and their acuity to the music’s ever-active emotional flux’. Their most recent honours are the 2017 Gramophone Award for Early Music and the 2017 Diapason d’or de l’année bestowed for their recording of Dowland’s Lachrimae.

The members of Phantasm (from the UK, Finland and Germany) were Consort-in-Residence at the University of Oxford and Magdalen College from 2005 to 2015. In 2015, the group’s art activity shifted to Berlin.

VIDEO

PRESS

„Phantasm’s playing brims with imaginative fantasy and dance-like momentum“

Gramophone

„Rigorous intellect with sensitive musicianship.“

BBC Music Magazine

SELECTION OF PROJECTS (2023/24)

Availability upon request
The well-tempered Consort: Music by J. S. Bach

In this programme we try to get ‘inside Bach’s head’ to make concrete within Bach’s glorious polyphony not only his vast range of references to arias, concertos, dances, sonatas but also as string players to engage with the astounding variety of characters, styles and emotions lurking beneath the surface of the notes. Even for those familiar with this repertoire from the keyboard will be astounded at how the clarity of lines audible on the viols that seems to result in new works penned by Bach’s genius.

Availability upon request
The Art of Being Human

The Art of Being Human is an exploration of how it feels to be alive and to exist among others, in relationships that are perfectly expressed through the polyphony of Early Music – its dissonances and harmonies – and reflected in the movement of dancers’ bodies, in a performance that offers profound insights into the very meaning of life. The Art of Being Human was commissioned by Pierre Boulez Saal, Berlin, where it will premiere in March 2023.

DOWNLOADS

Phantasm Viol Consort

© Marco Borggreve
© Marco Borggreve
© Marco Borggreve

PHANTASM, ein preisgekröntes Gambenconsort, wurde 1994 von Laurence Dreyfus gegründet. Schnell setzte das Ensemble international einen neuen Standard für das Consortspiel, sowohl in der Tiefe seiner Interpretationen als auch in seiner Beherrschung makelloser Streichtechnik.

Das Consort, das unter anderem mit drei Gramophone Awards ausgezeichnet wurde, reist um die ganze Welt und tritt in Konzertreihen und bei Festivals in ganz Europa, Amerika und Asien auf. Die Auftritte und mehr als 20 CD-Aufnahmen von Phantasm werden immer wieder gelobt, wobei Kritiker ihre „Intensität und Homogenität des Klangs und ihre Schärfe für den stets aktiven emotionalen Fluss der Musik“ hervorheben. Ihre jüngsten Auszeichnungen sind der Gramophone Award 2017 für Alte Musik und der Diapason d’or de l’année 2017, der für ihre Aufnahme von Dowlands Lachrimae verliehen wurde.

Die Mitglieder von Phantasm (aus Großbritannien, Finnland und Deutschland) waren von 2005 bis 2015 Consort-in-Residence an der University of Oxford und dem Magdalen College. Im Jahr 2015 verlagerte sich die Kunstaktivität der Gruppe nach Berlin.

VIDEO

PRESSESTIMMEN

„Das beste Gambenensemble der Welt“

BR Klassik

„Rigoroser Intellekt mit sensibler Musikalität.“

BBC Music Magazine

PROJEKTE 2023/24 – EINE AUSWAHL

Termine auf Anfrage
Das Wohltemperierte Consort: Musik von J. S. Bach

In diesem Programm versuchen wir, uns in Bachs Kopf hineinzuversetzen, um in Bachs glorreicher Polyphonie nicht nur seine zahlreichen Bezüge zu Arien, Konzerten, Tänzen und Sonaten zu erfassen, sondern auch, um uns als Instrumentalisten mit der erstaunlichen Vielfalt an Charakteren, Stilen und Emotionen zu beschäftigen, die unter der Oberfläche der Noten verborgen sind. Selbst diejenigen, die mit diesem Repertoire für das Tasteninstrument bereits vertraut sind, werden verblüfft sein, wie die Klarheit der Linien, auf den Gamben gespielt, zu ganz neuen Werken aus Bachs genialer Feder zu führen scheint.

Termine auf Anfrage
The Art of Being Human

The Art of Being Human ist eine Erkundung des Gefühls, lebendig zu sein und unter anderen zu existieren, in Beziehungen, die durch die Polyphonie der Alten Musik – ihre Dissonanzen und Harmonien – perfekt zum Ausdruck gebracht werden und sich in der Bewegung der Körper der Tänzer widerspiegeln, in einer Aufführung, die tiefe Einblicke in den eigentlichen Sinn des Lebens bietet. The Art of Being Human wurde vom Pierre- Boulez-Saal, Berlin in Auftrag gegeben und wird dort im März 2023.

5 Musiker:innen, 5 Tänzer:innen

DOWNLOADS