Molyvos International Music Festival

© Jean Francois Renaud
© Dorothea Dimitriou
© Thomas Karanikas
© Dorothea Dimitrio

The Molyvos International Music Festival (MIMF) was founded in 2015 by the German-Greek pianists Danae and Kiveli Dörken and the young entrepreneur Dimitris Tryfon. Since then, the focus has been on ensuring the high quality of the festival held annually in Lesbos and its year-round musical youth support program “Musical Key”. The aim is to offer classical music on a world-class level for residents and visitors to the island, to promote cross-border cultural cooperation and an intercultural dialogue, as well as to support the development of the region as a cultural center with specially designed mediation and inclusion measures.

MIMF unites young musicians from all over the world and world stars of classical music to exclusive chamber music ensembles. The central venue is the medieval castle of Molyvos, in addition, there will be pre-festival activities with free entrances on the two islands Lesbos and Chios, short special concerts (“Molyvos Musical Moments”) in public places on Molyvos and a moderated children’s concert followed by a meeting between audience and the artist. Every year, the program deals with a topic that reflects the rich Greek culture and puts it in a current context; In 2020, the motto “Odyssey” illuminates the subject of flight and migration. A deeper engagement with it takes place in the context of a public symposium. Since 2018, the Tryfon Arts Residency has been part of the interdisciplinary festival.

After “Metamorphoses”, “Crossroads”, “Catharsis”, “Genesis” and “Dia-logos”, „odyssey“ the festival 2021 illuminated the thematic complex „ΕΛΕΥΘΕΡΙΑ – LIBERTY – FREIHEIT“.

The festival is under the artistic direction of the sisters Danae and Kiveli Dörken. They are supported by an advisory committee, in which, in addition to Andreas Richter, Marlis Petersen, Lars Vogt and Jochen Sandig are also represented.

VIDEO

DOWNLOADS

Molyvos international Music Festival

©Alex Grymanis

Das Molyvos International Music Festival (MIMF) wurde 2015 von den deutsch-griechischen Pianistinnen Danae und Kiveli Dörken und dem Jungunternehmer Dimitris Tryfon gegründet. Seitdem steht die nachhaltige Sicherung der hohen Qualität des jährlich auf Lesbos ausgetragenen Festivals und seines ganzjährigen musikalischen Jugendförderprogramms „Musical Key“ im Fokus. Ziel ist es, klassische Musik auf Weltniveau niederschwellig für Einwohner und Besucher der Insel zu anzubieten, grenzüberschreitende kulturelle Zusammenarbeit und interkulturellen Dialog zu fördern, und mit speziell konzipierten Vermittlungs- und Inklusionsmaßnahmen die Entwicklung der Region als kulturelles Zentrum zu unterstützen.

MIMF vereint junge Musiker aus aller Welt und Weltstars der klassischen Musik zu exklusiven Kammermusikensembles. Zentraler Spielort ist die mittelalterliche Burg von Molyvos, zusätzlich finden bei freiem Eintritt Pre-Festival Activities auf Lesbos und Chios, kurze Sonderkonzerte („Molyvos Musical Moments“) an öffentlichen Plätzen von Molyvos und ein moderiertes Kinderkonzert mit anschließender Begegnung zwischen Publikum und Künstler statt. Das Programm reflektiert jährlich ein Thema, das die reichhaltige griechische Kultur reflektiert und in aktuelle Zusammenhänge stellt. Seit 2018 ist die Tryfon Arts Residency Teil des interdisziplinären Festivals.

Nach “Metamorphosen”, “Crossroads”, “Katharsis”, “Genesis” und “Dia-Logos” beleuchtet das Festival 2020 unter dem Motto „Odyssee“ den Themenkomplex Flucht und Migration. Eine vertiefende Behandlung findet im Rahmen eines öffentlichen Symposiums statt.

Das Festival steht unter der künstlerischen Leitung der Schwestern Danae und Kiveli Dörken. Unterstützt werden sie von einem Beratergremium, in dem neben Andreas Richter auch Marlis Petersen, Lars Vogt und Jochen Sandig vertreten sind.

Aus der Presse
Über das Molyvos International Music Festiva 2019: nmz, 02. September 2019
Über Molyvos International Music Festival 2018: BR Klassik PIAZZA, 18. August 2018
Über das Molyvos International Music Festival 2018: SWR2 Cluster, 17. August 2018
Über das Molyvos International Music Festival 2018: WDR 3 TonArt, 15. August 2018 
Interview mit Danae Doerken auf BR Klassik, 6. April 2018

Links
Webseite des Molyvos International Music Festivals 
Das Molyvos International Music Festival auf Facebook 
Das Molyvos International Music Festival auf Vimeo 
Das Molyvos International Music Festival auf YouTube 
Das Molyvos International Music Festival auf Twitter