Freigeist Ensemble

© Juuso Westerlund
© Kuva Jaakko Paarvala
© Juuso Westerlund
© Juuso Westerlund

Freigeist Ensemble is a courageous collective of supersonic soloists from German symphony orchestras that repackages super symphonic music for new audiences.

Often commissioning world premiere arrangements for innovative late-night projects, its mission is to revolutionise the style, sound and setting of classical concerts. This began in 2010 with “mini-Mahler” at Berlin’s Philharmonie Kammermusiksaal, followed by “Strauss 150: New Perspectives” at STATTBAD Berlin, “From Russia with Soul” at Griessmühle Berlin and “Bartók Beyond Borders” at Musikbrauerei Berlin.

Joolz Gale founded Freigeist Ensemble to build upon his vision to reach new audiences though new concert formats and alternative locations. Projects often include newly commissioned arrangements for ensemble by Joolz Gale himself (incl. Strauss’ Ein Heldenleben, Suite from Der Rosenkavalier, Bartók’s Dance Suite, Debussy’s La Mer, Bruckner’s 9th, Prokofiev’s 5th and Shostakovich’s 9th & 10th Symphonies), for which he is represented and published by Schott, Sikorski and Boosey & Hawkes.

Remaining plans for 2022 include a return of “Bartók Beyond Borders” on tour as well as Mahler’s 3rd, Debussy’s Images and Bruckner’s 8th, all newly arranged by the ensemble’s artistic director, Joolz Gale.



“An ideal case of closeness.”

Tagesspiegel Berlin, 4 August 2021

„The new great things are small… mini is irresistible..“

Tagesspiegel Berlin, 31 July 2021


Availability upon request
GURRELIEDER – Anniversary 150th years Schoenberg
with Joolz Gale, direction // Narrator and soloist TBC // Freigeist choir

Schoenberg’s Gurrelieder was originally composed 1900-1913 for one of the largest ensembles (with 400 people on stage) including 6 soloists, 4 male choirs and large mixed choir. However, in 1921, Schoenberg also arranged “Lied der Waldtaube” for just 17 musicians, performing it in Vienna at Society for Private Musical Performances. In celebration of Schoenberg’s 150th anniversary in 2024, Joolz Gale will “complete” the Gurrelieder for this same ensemble instrumentation (known as “Schoenberg-Besetzung), but with an additional chamber choir and the original cast of soloists. With a total of only 35 artists on stage, this fascinating world premiere project thus adds intimate new light on one of classical music’s grandest works.

A. Schoenberg: Gurrelieder, arr. by Joolz Gale *Premiere*

Availability upon request
BRUCKNER 6,7, 8, 9 – 200th anniversary of Anton Bruckner
with Joolz Gale, direction

A. Bruckner:
Symphony No. 6 in A major WAB 106, arr. Gale *Premiere*
Symphony No. 7 E major WAB 107, arr. Gale *premiere*
Synphony No. 8 C minor WAB 108, arr. Gale
Symphony No. 9 in D minor WAB 109, arr. Gale