Chamber Orchestra of Europe


Acknowledged as “the finest chamber orchestra in the world” (BBC 2 Television), the Chamber Orchestra of Europe was founded in 1981 by a group of young musicians graduating from the European Union Youth Orchestra. Of that original group, thirteen remain in the current core membership of around sixty.

Performances are given regularly in the major cities of Europe and occasionally in the USA and the Far East. The COE has strong links with the Lucerne Festival and also with many of the major concert halls in Europe. These include the Philharmonie de Paris, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Cologne Philharmonie, the Philharmonie Luxembourg and the Festspielhaus in Baden-Baden.

Over the years the COE has performed with many of the world’s greatest artists. The Orchestra developed especially close relationships with the late Claudio Abbado and Nikolaus Harnoncourt. Now, it is fortunate to be working very closely with Bernard Haitink, Yannick Nézet-Séguin and Sir András Schiff, who are all Honorary Members, and has forged strong artistic partnerships with Pierre Laurent Aimard, Lisa Batiashvili, Janine Jansen, Vladimir Jurowski, Leonidas Kavakos, Sir Antonio Pappano and Robin Ticciati.



„There are worse ways to start the day than with four Mozart Salzburg divertimenti: all the better when performed in Salzburg and with such distinction and evident affection as was brought to them by soloists from the Chamber Orchestra of Europe.“ 

Seen and heard international, 26th January 2020

„At its end, this “dream team” of players and conductor took thunderous applause.“ 

Bachtrack, 20th August 2018


1 – 2 Dezember 2023
Antonio Pappano, conductor / Beatrice Rana, piano

R. Schumann: Piano concerto in A minor, Op. 54
J. Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 74

© Musacchio & Ianniello licensed to EMI Classics
Credits: WarnerClassics | Photographer: Simon Fowler

26 May – 3 June 2024
András Schiff, conductor and piano

Microsoft Word – COE_Projects_EN_2324.docx

W. A. Mozart: Rondo for Piano and Orchestra in D major, K. 382 Op. 61
F. Schubert: Symphony No. 8 in B minor, D. 759
W. Lutoslawski: Musique funèbre [Muzyka żałobna] (1958)
B. Bartók: Piano Concerto No. 3 in E major, Sz. 119, BB 127

Chamber Orchestra of Europe © Julia Wessely



5 October 2020
Sir Simon Rattle, conductor / Vilde Frang, violin
L. v. Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61
J. Haydn: Symphony No. 90 in C major, Hob. I/90


6 October 2019
András Schiff
J. Haydn: Overture to L’isola disabitata in G minor, Hob Ia:13 / Haydn: Piano Concerto No. 11 in D major / Symphony No. 88 in G major
F. Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Piano Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25 / Symphony No. 4 in A major, Op. 90 “The Italian”