#Radialforum (by Andreas Richter)

© Markus Werner
© Markus Werner

On September 5, Radialsystem celebrated its 10th anniversary. And nothing less than the future of culture itself was on the agenda, in the form of 10 challenges – one for each year that this cultural center in a former pump station on the River Spree has existed. It is typical of the founders and artistic directors Jochen Sandig and Folkert Uhde that they used the happy occasion not only to celebrate, but also to continue their ongoing discussion of the difficulties facing art and culture in a rapidly changing city.

I have been associated with Radialsystem for a long time, not only as a member of the audience on numerous occasions, but also as an organizer and producer of several “Radial Nights” with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra and, more recently, two evenings with the musicAeterna ensemble from the Russian city of Perm. With The Sound of Light and Radiale Nacht Beethoven V, we attempted to place orchestral music in a new context using dance and innovative lighting and spatial concepts. So it was for me an honor to be asked to moderate one of the ten working groups, where we discussed ways to increase fairness and equality in the public sponsorship of cultural activities. This is a theme that is also regularly discussed at the “Forum Zukunft Kultur”, my working group at the “Stiftung Zukunft Berlin”.

It was interesting to compare the information presented by the two speakers. Dr. Winrich Nussbaummüller – Director of Cultural Activities for the state government of Vorarlberg in Austria – explained how a new cultural sponsorship law was passed, and how a fact-finding commission developed a cultural strategy for the future as well as binding criteria for the advancement of cultural activities. In contrast, Christophe Knoch – spokesperson for the Berliner Koalition der Freien Szene – described the complex processes that led to the founding of this coalition that attempted to define processes and criteria for the advancement of culture in Berlin as part of the discussions surrounding the “City Tax”.

In Berlin, the initial impulse and concrete proposals came out of the arts scene itself, from the potential recipients of the financial support; while in Vorarlberg the process was initiated by the administration, the providers of the support. Berlin and Vorarlberg are certainly not comparable in every aspect, but it was once again made discouragingly clear how inadequate Berlin’s official cultural policies remain, considering the demands of a growing metropolis and a rapidly changing cultural landscape.

10 Arbeitsgruppen zu 10 Themen © Markus Werner
10 Arbeitsgruppen zu 10 Themen
© Markus Werner

And in the midst of all this, what has been done about equality?

Particularly interesting for me was the realization that the most important thing is not necessarily the specific amount of money given to the artists (or the differing requirements of various production processes), but the perception of fairness that arises when discussions and procedures dealing with financial support are transparent and dependable, when there are support structures appropriate to the needs of the different scenes involved, and when open communication and participation in jointly developed and managed procedures are guaranteed.

I feel these are laudably democratic and mature demands, and I hope there will finally be a positive response from the political authorities in the coming legislative period.

Radialsystem will document the outcome of these discussions. Here is an initial sampling of reporting on the matter:

VAN_07. September 2016

Here is an interesting interview with the two directors of Radialsystem V, Friederike Hofmeister and Janina Paul

 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

#Radialforum (von Andreas Richter)

© Markus Werner
© Markus Werner

Nicht weniger als die Zukunft der Kultur stand beim Forum „Kultur der Zukunft – 10 Herausforderungen“am 5. September auf der Agenda des Radialsystem, konkretisiert anhand von 10 Herausforderungen – eine für jedes Lebensjahr des ehemaligen Pumpwerks an der Spree, das in dieser Woche seinen zehnten Geburtstag feiert. Typisch für die Gründer und künstlerischen Leiter Jochen Sandig und Folkert Uhde, dass sie nicht nur feiern, sondern dabei ihren steten Diskurs über die Herausforderungen an Kunst und Kultur in einer sich rasant wandelnden Stadt fortsetzen.

Mit dem Radialsystem bin ich schon lange verbunden, nicht nur als Besucher zahlreicher Veranstaltungen, sondern auch als Mitveranstalter und Produzent mehrerer „Radialer Nächte“ mit dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra und zuletzt zweier Abende mit MusicAeterna aus Perm. Mit The Sound of Light und Radiale Nacht Beethoven V haben wir versucht, Orchestermusik mit Tanz, Raum und Licht in einen anderen, besonderen Kontext zu stellen. Insofern war es mir eine Ehre, als Moderator mit einer der zehn Arbeitsgruppen die Frage zu erörtern, wie mehr Gerechtigkeit in der öffentlichen Kulturförderung möglich sein könnte. Ein Thema, dass mich auch in den Diskussionen des „Forum Zukunft Kultur“, meiner Arbeitsgruppe in der Stiftung Zukunft Berlin, immer wieder beschäftigt.

Interessant war der Vergleich der beiden Fallgeber zum Thema: Dr. Winrich Nussbaummüller, Leiter der Abteilung Kultur der Landesregierung Vorarlberg, berichtete, wie dort ein Kulturfördergesetz erarbeitet und mittels einer Enquete-Komission eine zukunftsweisende Kulturstrategie sowie verbindliche Kriterien und Richtlinien zur Kulturförderung entwickelt wurden. Christophe Knoch stellte dagegen als Sprecher der Berliner Koalition der Freien Szene die komplexen Prozesse dar, durch die sich dieser Verbund zunächst konstituiert hat und dann im Rahmen der Diskussionen um die „City-Tax“ versuchte, Prozesse und Kriterien für die Kulturförderung zu definieren.

In Berlin kamen also sowohl der Impuls wie auch konkrete Vorschläge aus der Szene, von den potenziellen Empfängern der Förderung, und in Vorarlberg aus der Verwaltung, von Seiten der Fördernden. Nun sind Vorarlberg und Berlin sicher nicht in allen Punkten vergleichbar, aber es zeigte sich einmal mehr in aller Deutlichkeit, dass die Berliner Kulturpolitik den Anforderungen der wachsenden Metropole und der sich in ihren Produktionsweisen verändernden Kulturlandschaft sehr wenig gerecht wird.

10 Arbeitsgruppen zu 10 Themen © Markus Werner
10 Arbeitsgruppen zu 10 Themen
© Markus Werner

Und wo blieb bei alldem die Gerechtigkeit?

Interessant war für mich vor allem die Erkenntnis, dass es hierbei weniger um die absolute Bezahlung von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern geht, auch nicht um die unterschiedlichen Voraussetzungen für die jeweiligen Produktionsprozesse, sondern vor allem um ein Gefühl von Gerechtigkeit, das sich dann einstellt, wenn Verfahren über Förderentscheidungen transparent und verlässlich sind, wenn es den Arbeitsweisen der Szene angemessene Förderstrukturen gibt und wenn, regelmäßige Kommunikation und Teilhabe an gemeinsam entwickelten und geregelten Verfahren ermöglicht wird.

Ich finde das einen sehr demokratischen und auch erwachsenen Anspruch und so hoffe ich, dass dieser  in der nächsten Legislaturperiode endlich auch von der Politik eingelöst werden kann.

Das Radialsystem wird die Ergebnisse der Tagung dokumentieren. Hier eine erste Auswahl von externen Berichten:

VAN_07. September 2016

Exberliner_05. September 2016

Und ein sehr interessantes Interview mit den beiden Geschäftsführerinnen des Radialsystem V, Friederike Hofmeister und Janina Paul:

http://www.aussergewoehnlich-berlin.de_27. August 2016

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *