Kremerata Baltica (Gidon Kremer)

© Angie Kremer

Founded in 1997, the Kremerata Baltica developed in several years into one of the best international chamber orchestras in the world and has assured its international reputation in major concert venues around the world.

Kremerata Baltica arose from Gidon Kremer’s determination to share his rich experience with young colleagues from the Baltic States. The ensemble’s preparation process, which holds no room for artistic compromise, is ruled by a commitment to excellence and creative daring. In addition to exploring works from the repertoire mainstream, Kremerata Baltica has also delivered world premieres of compositions by, among others, Lera Auerbach, Leonid Desyatnikov, Giya Kancheli, Arvo Pärt, Georgs Pēlecis, Alexander Raskatov, Valentin Silvestrov, Victor Kissine, Sofia Gubaidulina and Pēteris Vasks.

Among the celebrated soloists with whom Kremerata Baltica has performed are soprano Jessye Norman, pianists Martha Argerich, Evgeny Kissin, Michail Pletnev, Oleg Maisenberg, Daniil Trifonov, violinists Thomas Zehetmair, Patricia Kopachinskaya, Vadim Repin, Didier Lockwood, cellists Mischa Maisky, Mario Brunello, Yo Yo Ma, Boris Pergamenschikov, Nico-las Altstaedt. Conductors have included Sir Simon Rattle, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Christoph Eschenbach, Kent Nagano, Heinz Holliger, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Mirga Grazinyte-Tyla. Each of these musicians has contributed to shaping the unique spirit of Kremerata Baltica.

kremerata-vertical-regualar-WT@2x web

The ensemble has broadened its work in recent years to include “To Russia with Love”, a concert staged at Berlin’s Philharmonie in 2013 to promote the cause of human rights in Russia, and its latest creative project, “Pictures from the East”, a collaborative venture with Syrian artist Nizar Ali Badr highlighting the desperate plight of refugees from conflicts in the Middle East.
Since 2003 Kremerata Baltica has held its own Festival in Latvia.

© Giedre Dirvanauskaite

Among the world’s leading violinists, Gidon Kremer has perhaps pursued the most unconventional career.

Projects 2019/20

Kremerata Baltica on facebook
Kremerata Baltica on twitter

Kremerata Baltica (Gidon Kremer)

© Angie Kremer

Das 1997 gegründete Ensemble entwickelte sich innerhalb weniger Jahre zu einem der weltweit besten Kammerorchester, das bis heute seinen exzellenten Ruf mit jedem seiner regelmäßig stattfindenden Gastspiele an den international bedeutendsten Veranstaltungsorten unter Beweis stellt.

Für viele international gefeierte Solisten ist die Kremerata Baltica ein gefragter Partner. Das Ensemble spielte unter anderem mit Jessye Norman, den Pianisten Martha Argerich, Evgeny Kissin, Michail Pletnev, Oleg Maisenberg, Daniil Trifonov, den Geigern Thomas Zehetmair, Patricia Kopachinskaya, Vadim Repin, Didier Lockwood, den Cellisten Mischa Maisky, Mario Brunello, Yo Yo Ma, Boris Pergamenschikov, Nicolas Altstaedt. Dirigiert wurde es von Sir Simon Rattle, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Christoph Eschenbach, Kent Nagano, Heinz Holliger, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Mirga Grazinyte-Tyla. Jeder dieser künstlerischen Persönlichkeiten hat in der Ensemble-DNA Spuren hinterlassen und ist Teil seines einzigartigen Spirit.

Die Kremerata Baltica entstand aus Gidon Kremers tiefem inneren Bedürfnis, seinen reichen Erfahrungsschatz mit jungen Kollegen aus dem Baltikum zu teilen. Die Probenarbeit des Ensembles, die keinen Raum für künstlerische Kompromisse lässt, ist geprägt von höchstem Qualitätsbewusstsein und kreativer Aufgeschlossenheit. Neben Werken des gängigen Repertoires erarbeitet die Kremerata Baltica auch Uraufführungen von Komponisten wie Lera Auerbach, Leonid Desyatnikov, Giya Kancheli, Arvo Pärt, Georgs Pēlecis, Alexander Raskatov, Valentin Silvestrov, Victor Kissine, Sofia Gubaidulina und Pēteris Vasks.

kremerata-vertical-regualar-WT@2x web

Gesellschaftspolitisch engagierte sich das Ensemble unter anderem 2013 mit seinem Konzert To Russia with Love in der Berliner Philharmonie, das auf die Menschenrechtslage in Russland aufmerksam machen wollte, und mit seinem jüngsten kreativen Projekt Pictures from the East, das in Zusammenarbeit mit dem syrischen Künstler Nizar Ali Badr entstand und die verzweifelte Lage der Flüchtlinge aus den Konfliktregionen des Mittleren Ostens thematisiert. Seit 2003 veranstaltet die Kremerata Baltica ihr eigenes Festival in Sigulda in der Lettischen Schweiz.

© Giedre Dirvanauskaite 2 web

Among the world’s leading violinists, Gidon Kremer has perhaps pursued the most unconventional career.

Projekte 2019/20

Kremerata Baltica bei twitter
Kremerata Baltica bei facebook