musicAeterna (Teodor Currentzis)

© Olga Rumyova

musicAeterna was founded in 2004 by Teodor Currentzis in Novosibirsk. Its goal was to present Baroque and Classical works using authentic performance practices, but also set new accents in the realm of contemporary music. From the 2011/12 to the 2019/2020 season, the ensemble, as well as the musicAeterna Chorus, found a new home at the State Ballet and Opera Theater in Perm. Recent productions have included new interpretations of Mozart’s Don Giovanni and Offenbach’s Tales of Hoffmann. The orchestra is sought-after internationally and gave concerts with Teodor Currentzis in Vienna, Amsterdam, London, Baden-Baden, Bregenz, Moscow and Saint Petersburg. At the invitation of the Berlin Philharmonic, musicAeterna performed Handel’s Dixit Dominus and Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas in 2014.

The orchestra also published numerous CD recordings, including an acclaimed Mozart/Da Ponte cycle. The Marriage of Figaro was awarded with the ECHO prize in 2014; followed by Cosi Fan Tutte in November 2014 and Don Giovanni in the autumn of 2016.  In 2015, the orchestra released a recording of Stravinsky’s Les Noces and Tchaikovsky’s violin concerto with Patricia Kopatchinskaja, as well as Stravinsky’s Les Sacre du Printemps. In 2017, musicAeterna released  Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6 »Pathétique« and in 2018, Mahler’s Symphony No. 6, which won the prestigous Edison Klassiek Award.

musicAeterna won the Russian Theater Guild’s prestigious Golden Mask award 17 times, more often than any other Russian orchestra before. In 2018, the New York Times also listed their recording of Mahler’s Symphony No. 6 among the 25 best albums of the year 2018. In the same year, the musicAeterna Choir was honored with the International Opera Award as the Best Choir of the Year.

MusicAeterna_1

Highlights of musicAeterna’s European tour with Teodor Currentzis in the 2015/16 season were among others a new production of Richard Wagner’s Das Rheingold as part of the Ruhrtriennale, concert performances of Mozart’s Da Ponte operas in the Konzerthaus Dortmund and concerts with violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja in Berlin, Vienna, Zurich, and Rotterdam. Back in Perm, the ensemble performed La Traviata  with Bob Wilson and played in Saint Petersburg and Moscow.

The season 2016/17 began with another European tour. The Sound of Light, a program featuring the music of Rameau, was performed at Septembre Musical Montreux, at the Musikfest Bremen and in Vienna’s Konzerthaus. Furthermore, the orchestra presented Purcell’s The Indian Queen in a semi-staged production by Peter Sellars in the Grand Théâtre de Genève, the Cologne Philharmonie, the Dortmund Konzerthaus and at the Musikfest Bremen. In spring 2017 and autumn 2018, musicAeterna and Teodor Currentzis came back to Europe featuring different concert programmes in Brussels, Hamburg, Berlin, Munich, Budapest and Milan, among others.

In April 2019, Teodor Currentzis and musicAeterna went with Verdi’s Messa di Requiem and in September 2019 with the Da Ponte cycle on a successful European tour. On November 11 and 12, 2019, they will perform Alfred Schnittke’s Concerto for Choir and Philippe Hersant’s Tristia in Teodor Currentzis’ hometown Athens (Megaron).


Concerts 2019:

11th of November 2019 Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall – Alfred Schnittke: Concerto for Choir | Philippe Hersant: Tristia (musicAeterna Orchestra and Choir / Teodor Currentzis, conductor)
12th of November 2019 Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall – Alfred Schnittke: Concerto for Choir | Philippe Hersant: Tristia (musicAeterna Orchestra and Choir / Teodor Currentzis, conductor)


Biography: 
Links: 
musicAeterna Orchestra Website
musicAeterna Chorus Website
musicAeterna on Facebook
Teodor Currentzis Website
Teodor Currentzis on Facebook

 

Press:

musicAeterna (Teodor Currentzis)

© Olga Rumyova

Das russische Orchester musicAeterna wurde 2004 von Teodor Currentzis in Nowosibirsk mit dem Ziel gegründet, barocke und klassische Werke im Originalklang aufzuführen, aber auch neue Impulse im Bereits der zeitgenössischen Musik zu setzen. Von der Spielzeit 2011/12 bis 2019/20 war das Ensemble, zu dem auch der musicAeterna Kammerchor gehört, am Staatlichen Ballett- und Operntheater Perm (Ural) beheimatet, wo es jährlich mehrere Produktionen aufbot: So standen in der Saison 2014/15 bereits Neudeutungen von Mozarts Don Giovanni und Offenbachs Les Contes d’Hoffmann auf dem Spielplan. Das Orchester ist international gefragt und gastierte gemeinsam mit Teodor Currentzis in Wien, Amsterdam, London, Baden-Baden, Bregenz, Moskau und Sankt Petersburg. Auf Einladung der Berliner Philharmoniker präsentierte es im Februar 2014 Händels Dixit Dominus und Purcells Dido und Aeneas.

Überdies entstanden zahlreiche CD-Einspielungen, darunter ein vielbeachteter Mozart-Da-Ponte-Zyklus. Le nozze di Figaro wurde 2014 mit dem ECHO-Klassik ausgezeichnet sowie Così fan tutte im November 2014 und Don Giovanni im Herbst 2015 veröffentlicht. Ende 2015 erschien zudem eine Einspielung mit Tschaikowskys Violinkonzert und Strawinskys Les Noces mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja sowie Strawinskys Les sacre du printemps. In 2017 erschienen schließlich Tschaikowskys Sinfonie No. 6 »Pathétique« und 2018 Mahlers 6. Sinfonie, die mit dem Edison Klassiek Award ausgezeichnet wurde.

Bereits 17 Mal wurde das Ensemble mit der Goldenen Maske des russischen Theaterverbands geehrt; damit erhielt das Ensemble diesen renommierten Preis häufiger als jedes andere Opernorchester in Russland. Im Jahr 2018 wählte zudem die New York Times ihre Einspielung von Mahlers Sinfonie Nr. 6 unter die 25 besten Alben des Jahres 2018. Im selben Jahr wurde der musicAeterna Chor mit dem International Opera Award als bester Chor des Jahres geehrt.

MusicAeterna_1
© MusicAeterna

Highlights der Europatournee von Teodor Currentzis und musicAeterna in der Saison 2015/16 waren  die Neuinszenierung von Richard Wagners Rheingold im Rahmen der Ruhrtriennale, die konzertanten Aufführungen von Mozarts Da-Ponte-Opern am Konzerthaus Dortmund und eine Tour mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja nach Berlin, Wien, Zürich und Rotterdam. Zurück in Perm führte das Ensemble La Traviata mit Bob Wilson auf und konzentierte in Sankt Petersburg und Moskau.

Die Saison 2016/17 begann für Ensemble und Dirigent mit einer weiteren Europatournee. Das Rameau-Programm The Sound of Light wurde bei Septembre Musical Montreux, beim Musikfest Bremen und am Wiener Konzerthaus gespielt, Purcells The Indian Queen kam in einer halbszenischen Fassung nach Peter Sellars am Grand Theatre de Geneva, an der Kölner Philharmonie, beim Musikfest Bremen und am Konzerthaus Dortmund zur Aufführung. Im Frühjahr 2017 und Herbst 2018 kehrten musicAeterna und Teodor Currentzis mit verschiedenen Programmen nach Europa zurück und waren unter anderem in Brüssel, Hamburg, Berlin, München, Budapest und Milan zu Gast. Im April 2019 waren Teodor Currentzis und musicAeterna mit Verdis Messa di Requiem mit großem Erfolg in Europa auf Tournee. Im September 2019 bringen sie ihren Da Ponte-Zyklus zur Aufführung.

Biographien:
Biographie musicAeterna Orchester 2018/2019
Biographie musicAeterna Chor 2018/2019
Biographie Teodor Currentzis Biographie 2018/2019

Konzerte 2019:
03.09.2019 Musikfest Bremen (Die Glocke, Großer Saal) – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Così fan tutte KV 588 (Nadia Pavlova, Fiordiligi / Paula Murrihy, Dorabella / N.N. Ferrando / Konstantin Suchkov, Guglielmo / Anna Kasyan, Despina / Konstantin Wolff, Don Alfonso / Teodor Currentzis, Dirigent / musicAeterna Orchester und Chor)
05.09.2019 Wiener Konzerthaus – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Le nozze di Figaro KV 492 (Andrei Bondarenko, Conte d’Almaviva / Ekaterina Scherbachenko, Contessa d’Almaviva / Olga Kulchynska, Susanna / Alex Esposito, Figaro / Paula Murrihy, Cherubino / Daria Telyatnikova, Marcellina / Krystian Adam, Don Basilio / Sergey Godin, Don Curzio / Evgeny Stavinsky, Bartolo / Garry Agadzhanyan, Antonio / NN, Barbarina / Teodor Currentzis, Dirigent / musicAeterna Orchester und Chor)
07.09.2019 Wiener Konzerthaus – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Don Giovanni KV 527 (Dimitris Tiliakos, Don Giovanni / Nadezhda Pavlova, Donna Anna / Kenneth Tarver, Don Ottavio / Ekaterina Scherbachenko, Donna Elvira / Kyle Ketelsen, Leporello / Robert Lloyd, Il Commendatore / NN, Masetto / Christina Gansch, Zerlina / Teodor Currentzis, Dirigent / musicAeterna Orchester und Chor der Oper Perm)
09.09.2019 Wiener Konzerthaus – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Così fan tutte KV 588 (Nadezhda Pavlova, Fiordiligi / Paula Murrihy, Dorabella / Konstantin Suchkov, Guglielmo / NN, Ferrando / Anna Kasyan, Despina / Konstantin Wolff, Don Alfonso / Teodor Currentzis, Dirigent / musicAeterna Orchester und Chor)
12.09.2019 Lucerne Festival (KKL Luzern, Konzertsaal) – Mozart-Da-Ponte-Zyklus 1: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Le nozze di Figaro KV 492 (Andrei Bondarenko, Il Conte di Almaviva / Ekaterina Scherbachenko, La Contessa di Almaviv / Alex Esposito, Figaro / Olga Kulchynska, Susanna / Paula Murrihy, Cherubino / Evgeny Stavinsky, Bartolo / Sergey Godin, Don Curzio / Krystian Adam, Don Basilio / Garry Agadzhanyan, Antonio und weitere Solisten / Teodor Currentzis, Dirigent / musicAeterna Orchester und Chor)
13.09.2019 Lucerne Festival (KKL Luzern, Konzertsaal) – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Ausgewählte Arien aus La clemenza di Tito KV 621 sowie Arien und Orchestersätze aus weiteren Werken (Cecilia Bartoli, Mezzosopran / Teodor Currentzis, Dirigent / musicAeterna Orchester)
14.09.2019 Lucerne Festival (KKL Luzern, Konzertsaal) – Mozart-Da-Ponte-Zyklus 2: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Don Giovanni KV 527 (Dimitris Tiliakos, Don Giovanni / Nadezhda Pavlova, Donna Anna / Kenneth Tarver, Don Ottavio / Ekaterina Scherbachenko, Donna Elvira / Kyle Ketelsen, Leporello / Robert Lloyd, Il Commendatore / NN, Masetto / Christina Gansch, Zerlina / Teodor Currentzis, Dirigent / musicAeterna Orchester und Chor)
15.09.2019 Lucerne Festival (KKL Luzern, Konzertsaal) – Mozart-Da-Ponte-Zyklus 3: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Così fan tutte KV 588 (Nadezhda Pavlova, Fiordiligi / Paula Murrihy, Dorabella / Konstantin Suchkov, Guglielmo / NN, Ferrando / Cecilia Bartoli, Despina / Konstantin Wolff, Don Alfonso / Teodor Currentzis, Dirigent / musicAeterna Orchester und Chor)
08.10.2019 Philharmonie im Gasteig München – Maurice Ravel: Konzert für Klavier und Orchester G-Dur | Sergei Prokofjew: Musik zum Ballett Romeo und Julia op. 64 (Hélène Grimaud, Klavier / Teodor Currentzis, Leitung)
11.11.2019 Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall – Alfred Schnittke: Konzert für Chor | Philippe Hersant: Tristia (musicAeterna Orchester und Chor / Teodor Currentzis, Leitung)
12.11.2019 Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall – Alfred Schnittke: Konzert für Chor | Philippe Hersant: Tristia (musicAeterna Orchester und Chor / Teodor Currentzis, Leitung)

Links:
musicAeterna Orchester Webseite
musicAeterna Chor Webseite
musicAeterna auf Facebook
Teodor Currentzis Website
Teodor Currentzis auf Facebook

Presse:
Presseüberblick Verdi Messa da Requiem (Frühjahr 2019)
Presseüberblick Frühjahrstournee 2018
Presseüberblick Prokofieff: Symphonie Classique u.a. / Puccini: La Bohème (Herbst 2017)
Presseüberblick W.A. Mozart: La Clemenza di Tito/ Requiem (Sommer 2017)
Presseüberblick Rameau: The Sound of Light / Purcell: The Indian Queen (Herbst 2016)
10 Jahre musicAeterna in Bildern, Musik & Filmen
Ein Beitrag über Teodor Currentzis von ttt vom 10. Januar 2016
„Klassikrebell Teodor Currentzis“ Euromaxx vom 16.09.2016