Continuum

CONTINUUM © Neda Navaee
CONTINUUM © Bodo Gierga
CONTINUUM © Neda Navaee
Elina Albach © Neda Navaee

CONTINUUM is above all: many things not. For example: no fixed ensemble and no collective. It is rather an overall idea that hovers above the concrete projects and people, that can lean in all directions. There is already a label under this name CONTINUU|RECORDS|M – perhaps also a project space at some point.   It is the freedom to think of early music in a completely new way, to present it innovatively and to relate it to a present that is not as distant from it as the name and the usual performance practice suggest.

VIDEO

SELECTION OF PROJECTS (2023/24)

Availability upon request
Missa Miniatura
with Marie Luise Werneburg & Viola Blache, soprano // Alex Potter & Tobias Knaus, counter tenor // Benedikt Kristjánsson, tenor // Tobias Berndt, bass // Thomas Hall, speaker

What emerges in Elina Albach’s arrangements of large baroque works for small ensembles is described rather trivially as “miniature”. The “Missa miniatura” takes on Johann Sebastian Bach’s Mass in B minor. It is the only time Bach has set all the texts of the Latin mass to music, translating the traditional, almost schematic phrases into a search for a human being in wholeness that touches the heart of every individual. An appropriation that Albach and CONTINUUM develop further with their arrangement for seven baroque multi- instrumentalists and six singers. Instead of “merely” innovatively conceived early music, “Missa miniatura” is a piece that translates a formative work of church music into contemporary, agnostic reflection and reveals new musical facets in the well-known material.

After J. S. Bach: Mass in b minor, BWV 232
7 instrumentalists, 6 singers, 1 speaker

© Stephan Röhl
© Stephan Röhl
© Stephan Röhl
© Stephan Röhl
© Stephan Röhl
© Stephan Röhl
© Stephan Röhl

Availability upon request
Il Passagio (based on Monteverdi: L’Orfeo)
with Lambert Colson, zink & recorder // Liam Byrne, Viola da Gamba // Philipp Lamprecht, percussion // Elina Albach, organ & cembalo

Radical reinterpretation through reduction as an artistic principle: Baroque opulence translated into minimalist, yet highly emotional and musically multifaceted settings and arrangements are offered by Elina Albach and CONTINUUM’s version of what is presumed to be the first opera in world history. As early as 1607, Claudio Monteverdi’s “L’Orfeo” found a formative form of modern art music in the ancient material.

Instead of a large ensemble, four instrumentalists create all the sounds in the modern interpretation of “Il passagio”. Zincs and gambas, percussion and baroque keyboard instruments are used in surprising ways, drawing the audience into the music in immersive repetitions, letting the attractive, clear melodies shine and giving the instrumentally arranged vocal parts a special, unheard drama. Sparse text projections replace the subtitles usually found in opera, leaving listeners free to use their own imagination to develop the musical elements that drive the plot.

Based on C. Monteverdi: L’Orfeo, SV 318
4 instrumentalists

© Bodo Gierga
© Bodo Gierga
© Bodo Gierga
© Bodo Gierga
© Bodo Gierga
© Bodo Gierga
© Bodo Gierga

DOWNLOADS

Continuum

CONTINUUM © Neda Navaee
CONTINUUM © Bodo Gierga
CONTINUUM © Neda Navaee
Elina Albach © Neda Navaee

CONTINUUM ist vor allem: vieles nicht. Zum Beispiel: kein festes Ensemble und kein Kollektiv. Es ist eher eine über den konkreten Projekten und Personen schwebende Gesamtidee, die in alle Richtungen sich lehnen kann. Ein Label unter diesem Namen gibt es schon – “CONTINUU|RECORDS|M” – vielleicht auch irgendwann einen Projektraum.

CONTINUUM ist die Freiheit, Alte Musik ganz neu zu denken, innovativ zu präsentieren und sie damit in Bezug setzen zu einer Gegenwart, die ihr nicht so fern liegt, wie der Name und die gewöhnliche Aufführungspraxis suggerieren.

VIDEO

PROJEKTE 2023/24 – EINE AUSWAHL

Termine auf Anfrage
Missa Miniatura
mit Marie Luise Werneburg & Viola Blache, Sopran // Alex Potter & Tobias Knaus, Countertenor // Benedikt Kristjánsson, Tenor // Tobias Berndt, Bass // Thomas Hall, Sprecher

Was bei Elina Albachs Bearbeitungen großer barocker Werke für kleine Ensembles entsteht, ist mit “Miniatur” eher verharmlosend beschrieben. Die “Missa miniatura” nimmt sich Johann Sebastian Bachs h-Moll-Messe an. Zum einzigen Mal vertont Bach hier alle Texte der lateinischen Messe und übersetzt die überlieferten, beinahe schematischen Phrasen in eine jeden Einzelnen berührende Suche nach einem menschlichen Sein in Ganzheit. Eine Aneignung, die Albach und CONTINUUM mit ihrer Bearbeitung für sieben barocke Multi-Instrumentalis:innen und sechs Sänger:innen weiterdenken. Statt “bloß” innovativ gedachter Alter Musik wächst mit “Missa miniatura” ein Stück heran, das ein prägendes Werk der Kirchenmusik in zeitgenössische, agnostische Reflexion übersetzt und neue musikalische Facetten am altbekannten Material offenlegt.

Nach J. S. Bach: H-Moll-Messe, BWV 232
Besetzung: 7 Instrumentalist:innen, 6 Sänger:innen, 1 Sprecher

© Stephan Röhl
© Stephan Röhl
© Stephan Röhl
© Stephan Röhl
© Stephan Röhl
© Stephan Röhl
© Stephan Röhl

Termine auf Anfrage
Il Passagio (nach Monteverdi: L’Orfeo)
mit Lambert Colson, Zink & Blockflöte // Liam Byrne, Viola da Gamba // Philipp Lamprecht, Percussion // Elina Albach, Orgel & Cembalo

Radikale Neuinterpretation durch Reduktion als künstlerisches Prinzip: Barocke Opulenz, übersetzt in minimalistische, dennoch hochemotionale und musikalisch facettenreiche Settings und Arrangements, bietet Elina Albach und CONTINUUMs Version der mutmaßlich ersten Oper der Weltgeschichte. 1607 bereits fand Claudio Monteverdis “L’Orfeo” im antiken Stoff eine prägende Form der Kunstmusik der Neuzeit.

Statt eines großen Ensembles gestalten bei der modernen Interpretation “Il passagio” ganze vier Instrumentalist*innen die Klänge. Zinken und Gamben, Schlagwerk und barocke Tasteninstrumente kommen auf überraschende Weise zum Einsatz, ziehen das Publikum in immersiven Repetitionen in die Musik, lassen die anziehenden, klaren Melodien strahlen und schenken dabei den instrumental arrangierten Gesangspartien eine besondere, ungehörte Dramatik. Sparsame Textprojektionen ersetzen die in der Oper üblichen Untertitel und lassen den Hörenden Freiraum, die handlungstragenden musikalischen Elemente mit eigener Fantasie zu erschließen.

Nach C. Monteverdi: L’Orfeo, SV 318
Besetzung: 4 Instrumentalist:innen

© Bodo Gierga
© Bodo Gierga
© Bodo Gierga
© Bodo Gierga
© Bodo Gierga
© Bodo Gierga
© Bodo Gierga

DOWNLOADS