Il Giardino Armonico (Giovanni Antonini)

© Il Giardino Armonico
© Il Giardino Armonico

Il Giardino Armonico, founded in 1985 and conducted by Giovanni Antonini for long has been established as one of the world’s leading period instrument ensembles, bringing together musicians from some of Europe’s leading music institutions. The ensemble’s repertoire is mainly focused on the 17th and 18th centuries. Depending on the demands of each programme, the group will consist of anywhere from 3 to 30 musicians.

After many years as exclusive group of Teldec Classics, achieving several major awards for their recordings of works by Vivaldi and other 18th century composers, the group had an exclusive recording agreement with DECCA/L’Oiseau-Lyre. With this record label the ensemble has released Händel’s Concerti Grossi Op VI and the cantata Il Pianto di Maria, with Bernarda Fink, Alleluia. Il Giardino Armonico’s recording with the young soprano Julia Lezhneva, released by Decca in march 2013, has been unanimously acclaimed by public and critics. As the result of further collaboration, a second CD Händel in Italy has been published on October 2015.

Il Giardino Armonico is regularly invited to festivals all over the world, performing in the most important concert halls, and has received the highest acclaim both for their concerts and for their staged opera productions, like Monteverdi’s Orfeo, Händel’s Agrippina, Il Trionfo del Tempo del Disinganno and La Resurrezione, Vivaldi’s Ottone in Villa and also Handel’s opera Giulio Cesare in Egitto during the 2012 edition of the Salzburg Whitsun and Summer Festival.

The ensemble worked with such acclaimed soloists as Giuliano Carmignola, Christophe Coin, Katia and Marielle Labèque, Bernarda Fink, Viktoria Mullova, and Cecilia Bartoli.

© Kemal Mehmet Girgin

Their current projects include collaborations with the cellist Sol Gabetta, the cellist Giovanni Sollima, the violinist Isabelle Faust (with the recording of five Mozart’s violin concerts – label Harmonia Mundi), and the soprano Anna Prohaska (with a recording for the label Outhere).

On November 2014 the first CD of the complete symphonies of F.J. Haydn titled La Passione has been released, and on May 2015 the second one Il Filosofo has been published (label: Alpha-Outhere): all within a twenty-year project Haydn2032 for which the Haydn Foundation has been created in Basel, to support both the recording project and a series of concerts in various European cities, with thematic programs focused on this fascinating repertoire. On October 2015 La Passione won the Echo Klassik reward, and Il Filosofo is Choc de l’Annee by Classica. The third edition, “Solo e Pensoso” was published in September 2016.

In summer 2016, the ensemble published its first recording with soprano Anna Prohaska, Serpent & Fire. A common tour led orchestra and singer to venues as Alte Oper Frankfurt, Theater an der Wien and Het Concertgebouw Amsterdam.

© Federico Emmi
© Federico Emmi

October 2016 saw the ensembles first  cooperation with Isabell Faust, who recorded Mozarts violin concertos with the orchestra under the baton of Gionvanni Antonini. Several recordings of the ensemble are nominated for the 59th Grammy as well as for ICMA (international classical music award). For the highly acclaimed recording “Telemann” was hounored with an ECHO KLASSIK 2017.

Tours 2017/2018

24 June 2017 Europäischer Kultursommer Fellbach – Works by Gabrieli, Albinoni, Castelli, Vivaldi and others
19 August 2017 Musikfest Bremen – Johann Sebastian Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No .2 in F major BWV 1047 and No. 1 in F major BWV 1046
21 October 2017 Festspielhaus Baden-BadenJoseph Haydn: Symphony No. 47 in G major “Palindrome”/Wolfgang Amadeua Mozart: Concerto for violin and orchestra in B-flat major K 207 (Isabelle Faust)/Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 49 in F minor “La Passione”/Wolfgang Amadeua Mozart: Concerto for violin and orchestra in A major K219 (Isabelle Faust)
10 November 2017 Pierre Boulez Saal, Berlin – “Vivaldi in Vencie” Works by Gabrieli, Albinoni, Castelli, Vivaldi and others
14 November 2017 Herkulessaal der Residenz München – “Vivaldi in Venice” Works by Gabrieli, Albinoni, Castelli, Vivaldi and others
02 December 2017 Laeiszhalle HamburgGeorg Philipp Telemann: Suite in A minor TWV 55:a2/Concerto in C major TWV 51:C1/Sonata in F major TWV 43:F2/Concerto di Camera in G minor TWV 43:g3
05 April 2018 Heidelberger Frühling – “Serpent & Fire” Arias from Dido and Cleopatra by Purcell, Händel, Hasse and others (Anna Prohaska, soprano)
07 August 2018 Rheingau Musik Festival – “Serpent & Fire” Arias from  Dido and Cleopatra by Purcell, Händel, Hasse and others (Anna Prohaska, Sopran)



Biography Il Giardino Armonico 2017

ENG – Giovanni Antonini bio 2017


Il Giardino Armonico on facebook


Find some press articles in the german section.