The Molyvos International Music Festival 2018

The Molyvos International Music Festival recently published its programme for summer 2018. Between the 16th and 18th of August, the charming old town in the north of the island of Lesbos turns into a musical center of international chamber music. Dominating delightfully over the town for some hundred years, the Castle of Molyvos remains this year to be the most important and  striking venue. Additionally, small musical interludes will take place in beautiful corners of the village. 
Musical Moment in der Altstadt von Molyvos - ©Alex Grymanis
Musical Moment in der Altstadt von Molyvos – ©Alex Grymanis

This year marks the fourth edition of the Molyvos International Music Festival. Each year, around 20 young most talented artists from all over the world join forces and form unique ensembles featuring chamber music repertoire from baroque to new music. Among others, the festivals welcomes this year artists like Lars Vogt, Benedict Klöckner, Sebastian Manz, Maximilian Hornung, Sarah Christian and of course Danae and Kiveli Doerken, founders and artistic directors of the festival.  

Already one week before the official start, „prefestival activities“ offer the possibility to attend chamber music concerts at selected locations of the whole island. Starting on 9th of August, Philipp Wolheim, Maria Wehrmeyer, Raphael Paratore and Adrien Boisseau present music for string quartets at the Library of Stratis Eleftheriadis in Teriade and at the Limon Monasteri in Kalloni, followed by Tuncay Yilmaz, Gustav Rivinius and Emre Elivar with work for piano trio at the prehistoric settlement of Thermi and the archaic sanctuary of Apollo at Klopedi.

This year’s festival theme „Genesis“ continues the musical discussion of archetypical, mythological or religious formative terms of the European and Middle Eastern cultural history. The repertoire spans a range form Baroque and the Classical Period to new music. Highlights focus on works by Johann Sebastian Bach and by different composers of the 20th Century.

Konzert in der Burg von Mytilini - ©Alex Grymanis
Konzert in der Burg von Mytilini – ©Alex Grymanis

The sisters Danae and Kiveli Dörken are the festival’s Artistic Directors. They are supported by a Board of Advisors which includes Andreas Richter (chairman), sopranist Marlis Petersen, and pianist Lars Vogt, as well as Jochen Sandig, who is Artistic Director of Radialsystem V in Berlin and the managing Director of sasha waltz & guests.

Interview with Danae Doerken on BR Klassik, 6th of April 2018 (in German only).

Find out more about the festival.

 

concerti about the Molyvos Festivl 2017 (in German)

 

Enjoy!
Enjoy!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Das Molyvos International Music Festival 2018

Screenshot-2018-4-8 Molyvos International Music Festival Official Website

Das Molyvos International Music Festival hat sein Programm für den Sommer 2018 veröffentlicht. Zwischen dem 16. und dem 19. August verwandelt sich die zauberhafte Altstadt der im Norden Lesbos’ gelegenen Stadt Molyvos in ein musikalisches Zentrum internationaler Kammermusik. Wichtigster Schauplatz des Festivals ist nach wie vor die Burg von Molyvos, die seit hunderten von Jahren majestätisch über der Hafenstadt thront. Hinzu kommen kurze musikalische Intermezzi an verschiedenen Plätzen der Stadt während der Festivaltage.

Musical Moment in der Altstadt von Molyvos - ©Alex Grymanis
Musical Moment in der Altstadt von Molyvos – ©Alex Grymanis

Bereits zum vierten Mal versammelt das Molyvos International Music Festival rund 20, meist junge, Musiker aus der ganzen Welt. Sie formieren sich während dieser Zeit zu exklusiven Ensembles, die vor Ort proben und in unterschiedlichen Formationen auftreten. In diesem Jahr sind neben den beiden Festivalgründerinnen und Künstlerischen Leiterinnen, Danae und Kiveli Dörken, unter anderem Lars Vogt, Benedict Klöckner, Sebastian Manz, Maximilian Hornung und Sarah Christian zu erleben.

Bereits eine Woche vorher starten die „Prefestival Activities“, Kammerkonzerte an verschiedenen Orten der Insel. Philipp Wolheim, Maria Wehrmeyer, Raphael Paratore und Adrien Boisseau spielen Repertoire für Streichquartett in der Bibliothek von Stratis Eleftheriadis in Teriade sowie in der Klosteranlage Moní Limónos. Tuncay Yilmaz, Gustav Rivinius und Emre Elivar präsentieren Werke für Klaviertrio in der antiken, der Jagdgöttin Artemis gewidmeten, Badeanstalt von Thermi und in der Tempelanlage von Klopedi.

Das Festival orientiert sich in diesem Jahr an dem thematischen Leitfaden „Genesis“ und setzt damit seine musikalische Beschäftigung mit archetypischen, mythologisch und religiös prägenden Begriffen der europäischen und nahöstlichen Kulturgeschichte fort. Das Repertoire reicht dabei von Barock über einschlägige Werke der Klassik und Romantik bis zu Zeitgenössischer Musik. Einen besonderen Schwerpunkt bilden Werke von Johann Sebastian Bach, aber auch verschiedene Komponisten des frühen und mittleren 20. Jahrhunderts.

Konzert in der Burg von Mytilini - ©Alex Grymanis
Konzert in der Burg von Mytilini – ©Alex Grymanis

Das Festival steht unter der künstlerischen Leitung der Schwestern Danae und Kiveli Dörken. Unterstützt werden sie von einem Beratergremium, in dem neben Andreas Richter, der den Vorsitz innehat, auch die Sopranistin Marlis Petersen, der Pianist Lars Vogt sowie Jochen Sandig, der künstlerische Leiter des Radialsystem V in Berlin und Geschäftsführer von sasha waltz & guests vertreten sind.

Interview mit Danae Doerken auf BR Klassik, 6. April 2018

Erfahren Sie hier mehr über das Festival.

Die Website des Molyvos International Music Festival
Das Molyvos International Music Festival bei Facebook
Das Molyvos International Music Festival bei Twitter
Das Molyvos International Music Festival bei vimeo
Das Molyvos International Music Festival bei youtube
Enjoy!
Enjoy!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *