2017 The State of Europe Speech with the EUYO

EUYO in Berln 2014 © Bernjamin Pritzukuleit

On the 9th day of November in every year since 2010, Berlin has hosted the State of Europe speeches, where prominent representatives of the European Union discuss fundamental questions, ideas, and challenges pertaining to the European project. The goal is to publically document the work toward a common political and cultural identity and give the idea of Europe a human face.

The State of Europe speeches are organized and supported by the Stiftung Zukunft Berlin, the Konrad Adenauer Foundation, and the Robert Bosch Foundation. Past speakers have included Donald Tusk (President of the European Council) in 2015, Martin Schultz (President of the European Parliament) in 2012 and 2014, and José Manuel Barroso (President of the European Commission) in 2011. In November 2016, Jean-Claude Juncker (President of the European Commission) delivered the seventh State of Europe Speech in the Allianz Foundation Forum at Berlin’s Pariser Platz.

In 2014, Europeans celebrated the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall and the end of the division of Europe. The participation of the European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO) lent a further international musical dimension to the festivities. The orchestra, founded by Claudio Abbado, has since 1976 been a European cultural ambassador, and uniquely exemplifies the ideals of inner-European dialogue and European identity. It was thus only natural that the orchestra’s young musicians be invited to take part in a number of the activities during the two days of anniversary celebrations in Berlin, providing music from 400 years of European history. In addition to chamber music performances during the “Border of Lights” project and a concert in the Chapel of Reconciliation, the EUYO provided the musical framework for the State of Europe speech in the House of World Cultures. In 2016, the State of Europe speech was again accompanied by young musicians from the EUYO. The program includee chamber music works by Béla Bartok, Henryk Górecki, and Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy.

In the spring of 2016, the existence of the European Union Youth Orchestra was for a time threatened by new and restrictive sponsoring criteria from the Creative Europe program, resulting in an international wave of protest from musicians, audiences, artists, and the press. Andreas Richter – who as one of the persons responsible for the Stiftung Zukunft Berlin’s Forum Zukunft Kultur had championed the acclaimed youth ensemble’s participation in 2014 – published an article in support of the orchestra in the Berliner Tagesspiegel on 19 May 2016: Berliner Tagesspiegel


Béla Bartok: Romanian Folk Dances
Henryk Górecki: Three Pieces in the Old Style
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: 4th movement, Presto, from: Octet in E-flat major, op. 20

Played by
Samuel Garcia Garcia, violin
Luisa Seco, violin
Emma van Schoonhoven, violin
Judith De Haas, violin
Joana Nunez, viola
Samuel Espinosa Ruiz, viola
Anne Keckeis, ‘cello
Stefano Cuccuzella, ‘cello
Rui Rodrigues, bass
Maria Krykov, bass



7th State of Europe Speech


Robert Bosch Stiftung

Stiftung Zukunft Berlin

European Union Youth Orchestra